Find the word definition


Trégor (Bro-Dreger in Breton) is one of the nine provinces of Brittany, in its northwestern area. It comprises the western part of the département of Côtes-d'Armor and a small part of the northeast of Finistère, as far as the river Morlaix. Its capital is Tréguier, the French translation of the Breton word Landreger (from lann, holy place, and Dreger, Tregor).

Since the Morlaix was the boundary between the Bishopric of Léon and the Bishopric of Tréguier, the town was divided between the two.

On 27 January 1790, after the French Revolution, the Breton deputies rejected the request by the residents of Morlaix to be integrated in the department of Saint-Brieuc. They instead established the northern boundary of the department at the Douron.

Category:Geography of Brittany Category:Geography of Côtes-d'Armor