Find the word definition


PEARUSA was the North American missionary district of the Anglican Church of Rwanda. It took the first part of its name from the acronym for the Rwandan church's official French name (Province de l'Eglise Anglicane au Rwanda, or PEAR). PEARUSA was also a sub-jurisdiction of the Anglican Church in North America (ACNA), but on 23 September 2015 the Synod of the Province of the Anglican Church of Rwanda at its regular meeting held at St. Etienne Cathedral in Kigali, Rwanda resolved to fully transfer PEARUSA to the Anglican Church in North America (ACNA) with some of the existing PEARUSA networks becoming full ACNA dioceses by June 2016. Upon the unanimous vote of ACNA's Provincial Council on 21 June 2016, PEARUSA was fully transferred to ACNA with two of the three former PEARUSA networks [Mid-Atlantic and Northeast, West] becoming full ACNA dioceses known respectively as the Anglican Diocese of Christ Our Hope and the Anglican Diocese of the Rocky Mountains. The former PEARUSA Southeast network did not become a full, separate ACNA diocese. According to a decision that had been reached at their clergy meeting and released on 8 February 2016, the 20 parishes of PEARUSA Southeast has folded into the already existing ACNA dioceses.