Find the word definition


Conwy (; formerly known in English as Conway) is a walled market town and community in Conwy County Borough on the north coast of Wales. The town, which faces Deganwy across the River Conwy, formerly lay in Gwynedd and prior to that in Caernarfonshire. The community, which includes Deganwy and Llandudno Junction, had a population of 14,208 at the 2001 census, and is a popular tourist destination. The population rose to 14,753 at the 2011 census. The town itself has a population of 4,065. The Welsh language can be heard in widespread, casual and official usage.

Conwy (disambiguation)

Conwy is a walled town in north Wales.

Conwy may also refer to these proximate things:

  • Conwy County Borough, a principal local government area (from 1996)
  • the River Conwy (Afon Conwy)
  • Conwy County Borough Council, a local authority
  • Conwy Borough F.C. (formerly Conwy United), a part-time football club
  • Conwy railway station, a train request stop
  • Conwy (community), a local government area (from 1974)

Defunct administrative areas:

  • Conwy (UK Parliament constituency) (1950–2010)
  • Conwy (National Assembly for Wales constituency) (1999–2007)
  • Conwy (municipal borough) (1885–1974)
Conwy (UK Parliament constituency)

Conwy was an electoral constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It returned one Member of Parliament (MP) by the single-member district plurality (also known as first-past-the-post) system of voting.

The constituency was created for the 1950 general election, and abolished for the 2010 general election.

Conwy (National Assembly for Wales constituency)

Former Welsh Assembly county constituency


Conwy shown as one of the 40
Welsh Assembly constituencies from 1999 to 2007



Electoral region:

Preserved counties:

Conwy was a constituency of the National Assembly for Wales from 1999 to 2007. It elected one Assembly Member by the first past the post method of election. It was also one of nine constituencies in the North Wales electoral region, which elected four additional members, in addition to nine constituency members, to produce a degree of proportional representation for the region as a whole.